New Obsession: Macadamia Nuts

New year, new obsession. I have this new thing for Macadamia Nuts, they taste divine.

Heaven on a platter!

Downside: they’re freaking expensive in China. They charged me US$13 for a handful of nuts. Talk about robbery.

If you see this map on the right side, you will see that China is actually producing its own macadamia nuts, which means that NO, the price shouldn’t be that outrageous since they’re not importing it from Hawaii or Queensland.

*sigh* But then again, it could have just been me being very cheap. With the inflation and all (and my meagre salary), I find budgeting a necessity. So long toro and hotate, my other obsession for sashimi daily flown from Tokyo’s Tsukiji market will stay hidden in the background. For now.

For plain nuts, I would give Macadamia a 9/10. A better nut than Mr. M could only be the freshly fallen walnut I tasted on my trip to Yunnan. That, was a 10/10.

Leave a comment