Chung Gi Wa: Skinny Samgyeopsal

I think I have spoiled myself when it comes to Korean food. Beijing has awesome Korean restaurants and its own K-town in Wangjing. Having a Korean for a best friend also meant that her Mum frequently cooked for me whenever I came to “study” at her house. So when we moved to Jakarta and lost all our precious eating spots, we had to start from scratch and try to compile a list of good-but-affordable restaurants.

Which landed us in Chung Gi Wa. Or so we thought.

aaa

This Korean eatery is located behind the police station at Jln. Wijaya and is famous for its pork and homegrown organic vegetable.

fff
Meat Menu

We ordered a portion of samgyeopsal (fatty pork belly), and a portion of bulgalbi (marinated beef rib). Being a Korean restaurant, of course the meal also came with its typical kimchi-in-various-styles side dishes.

ddd
I love freebies!

The pork came and our jaw dropped – in disappointment. It was LEAN! Now, my fat-conscious Mother would be happy, but I love fat, and when I order fatty pork belly, I expect to see a lot of fat on my meat.

r
*sigh*

It was dry and not as awesome as the samgyeopsal restaurant we used to go to in Wangjing. But then the bulgalbi came and we were back to being happy bunnies 🙂

rr
Oh yeah!

Nothing tastes better than good meat grilled on charcoal fire. I guess we shall be coming back for the beef (and continue searching for a real fatty pork).

2 comments on “Chung Gi Wa: Skinny Samgyeopsal

  1. go try ssikkek all you can eat korean bbq
    fortunately (or unfortunately) the samgyupsal is so juicy and so much fat!

Leave a comment