Blok M: Yakiniku. Prostitution. Doesn’t need to be in that order.

There’s this little strip of area behind Blok M known as “Little Tokyo”. Word has it that they are the after-work hangout place for Japanese businessmen, and sports some dodgy nightclubs/KTV/brothel and pretty good authentic Japanese restaurant. Do correct me if I am biased here – actually never mind, I am biased – but what goes hand in hand with Japanese businessmen?

Prostitution is the answer.

IMG_3870
Like this dodgy Japanese establishment

And good food, of course.

IMG_3867
Like this awesome yakiniku place right in front of Yujiro

Yumeya is such a hidden gem! Anyone into good beef and good sashimi should visit this restaurant. Their beef are, surprise surprise, US beef. Their sashimi is flown from Tokyo’s Tsukiji market. Extra points!

e
Tenderloin
Rib eye
Rib eye, and some veggies to make me feel healthier
e
Dessert: Probiotic Yakult for digestive reason, and some mochi in red bean sauce

Dinner wasn’t cheap.

ff
That’s about US$120,-

I’m seriously going to be broke very soon. Damn you seductive meat! Will be coming again once I have a proper income.

For more information about Blok M’s prostitution area, click here. Stay safe, stay away from the girls. But do check out the area after 11pm, it’s quite interesting to see how almost all the male walking around in suits are Japanese looking for some conditional love. If I ever catch my Jap man doing anything that remotely resembles cheating with a prozzie, I will have his balls for yakiniku. Watch out!

6 comments on “Blok M: Yakiniku. Prostitution. Doesn’t need to be in that order.

  1. Well the price looks authentic…as does the nighttime atmosphere
    Actually, I used to traipse down to that hood to visit Kamome and the other Japanese supermarket (can’t recall the name); on the 2nd floor of the latter, I had decent ramen.
    Also, there used to be an Air Asia office in that part of town, but it may not be there these days (this was five years ago).

      • Lima tahun lalu saya mengejar bahasa inggris dekat Le Meridien. Saya juga suka pergi ke Matahari di bawah Blok M karena t-shirt yang jual di sana punya bahasa inggris aneh mengedepankan.

        Can you find rumah makan Indonesia in Beijing?

      • Wah bisa bahasa Indonesia juga 🙂 You probably know more about Indo than I do, haven’t lived here for 8 years now.

        I don’t generally eat Indo food out of Indo because I’m cheap and it’s probably not worth it haha. But if you’re in Beijing, get to Beijing Language Culture University (语言大学) in Wudaokou (五道口)and go to the student hall. Some Indo guy is making a business selling Sop Buntut there. It’s pretty decent for about 35RMB, 3.5 years ago. I heard it’s still there 🙂

Leave a comment